Happy Birthday!

Dear Reader,

Today is the birthday of my Order – the Order of Friars Preachers!

We received a bulla of confirmation from the Pope Honorius III on this day in the year 1216, establishing our order for the purpose of pursuing the dual goals of “preaching and the salvation of souls.”

Here it is:

I suggest we throw “Happy Birthday to You” out the window and sing a nice Gregorian melody – just like Jesus would do:

Yours in Christ,

Br. James Dominic, OP

PS – Oddly enough, my search for the text of Religiosam Vitam brought me to this strange website. I believe the author is, sadly, schizophrenic. I encourage you to read the article on Pope Honorius III (I never knew he wrote a book detailing methods to sacrifice children to demons – all the liberal education I’ve received has made me soft) and Dominic de Guzman (come around OUR house and you’ll see he’s guilty as charged).

I think I can appropriate his disclaimer for my own humble blog:

The question of whether a statement on my blog is true or false should be tested by its consistency with other claims presented, the test of logic and common sense. A deliberate absence of citations does not in itself imply a claim is not true. Therefore, beware those apologists who would claim “nothing” on this site is true because it does not pledge service to ancient forgeries and false systems.

 

 

UPDATE:

I highly appreciate the fact that St. Dominic is significantly below St. Francis on the hierarchy of evil.

I concur in placing Elizabeth I above St. Ignatius.

The "SJ" after Josef Stalin makes all the sense in the world.

 

 

  1. #1 by Francis on December 22, 2010 - 4:08 pm

    It is nice to know that my namesake squeezed into the top ten most evil list.

  2. #2 by Bro. John Chrysostom on December 22, 2010 - 4:25 pm

    This person has an apparent problem with Jesuits. Besides the obvious, the Society being the most evil organization ever, the author seems to think that other random “evil” people are Jesuits…i.e. Fr. Josef Stalin, SJ.

Leave a Reply

