Br. James Dominic: Syndicated Philosopher

Dear Reader,

I am currently working on a journal paper on the topic of evolutionary biology (and I am avoiding finishing it to write this post). Some of the friars were talking about it with me, and I mentioned it would likely be rather long. Someone asked if it was going to be published in a series, and I suggested that we could solve the whole problem by just having the Review of Metaphysics offer me a position as a syndicated columnist. I imagine it would go something like this:

Br. James,

My boyfriend left me! What do I do?

Yours,

Lonely in Seattle

PS – Can I have your recipe for lemon meringue pie? Delicious!

Dear Lonely,

First of all, I am glad to hear that you still believe in the permanence of substances over time! Many do not, and this often has rather adverse impacts on their parenting practices (as I am sure you can imagine!). Second, I don’t counsel a move to moral relativism, but possibly one could look at this from a different angle. Every privation is also a passive potentiality inhering in some substance! Take the opportunity to practice your tennis, take up the cello, or do some other constructive activity contributing to your eudaimonic happiness. Avoid the temptation to seek out the quick pleasures of either hedonism or phenomenological occultism; there is certainly more to life than John Stuart Mill.

As for the meringue pie, the recipe is strictly analogical across genera; just extrapolate from known contingent truths to account for either increased proportions or ingredients local to you. It can be found here!

Because if there is at least one set of necessary truths apart from those either de fide or preambula fidei, it is certainly that:

Yours Most Kindly in Christ,

Br. James Dominic, OP

  1. #1 by Mike Wells on April 12, 2011 - 3:59 pm

    lol. I am amused.

Leave a Reply

