Pastoral Year Update

Dear(est) Reader,

   I apologize for the lack of posts, but so much has happened over the past month and a half that I haven’t had time to stop and update the cyber-world on the goings-on! After finishing my Clinical Pastoral Education this summer in Chicago (at Sts. Mary & Elizabeth Hospital), I just started my pastoral year at Purdue University’s Dominican-run Catholic campus ministry center, St. Thomas Aquinas. I’ve been working there for a while now, since mid-August, as a campus ministry intern. That basically means I do lots of stuff and go to every meeting, while not having much of a clue what’s going on. St. Tom’s in particular is a VERY active campus ministry – Purdue has 12,000 Catholic students and the parish receives a substantial portion of that number attending events. We recently planned a very big Blockbuster Weekend with events galore (we watched the Avengers on the side of a building!), which I had a negligible role in planning and executing (but from which I profited immensely in the cookie and baked goods category). This weekend, we have a Freshmen Retreat for new students and I’ll be preaching at Eucharistic Adoration tonight for the retreat (look for a video here shortly with my preaching!). 

It’s the non-stop life of a friar preacher 🙂

I DO have a few posts, however, in the works. Keep reading and follow the blog for more updates!

Yours in Christ,

Br. James Dominic, OP

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

