Laughing in the Face of Evil

Dearest Person Engaged in Deciphering Written Symbologies,

As I attempted to join the Equestrian Order of the Holy Sepulchre this afternoon – yes, one of the REAL equestrian orders recognized by the rightful Pope of Rome, rather than one of these phoney-pony Prot knighthoods – I came across a rather interesting article: it seems as if Planned Parenthood was offering discounts on Black Friday for abortions and emergency contraception. While the source might not be entirely unbiased, I trust that our good friends at the Margaret Sanger Emporium probably are guilty what this article imputes to them. But seriously, if you’re “for” abortion, why not offer discounts? Labor day sales? Lightning deals? Everything must go!

I’m sorry – I realize how delicate and touchy an issue like abortion is. I despise the practice and equate it, unabashedly, with murder. I think it’s telling when even Family Guy, a show not known for prudish tastes, paints abortionists as practicing a dirty profession. But my first reaction to this news was not, maybe as it should have been, a sick feeling in my stomach. Nor some disappointment with humanity or self-righteous feeling. Rather, I laughed.

It’s like a “two-for-one genocide special” or something as absurdly ridiculous, in my eyes. It’s like hearing “In Der Fuhrer’s Face” on the radio – nobody should take it seriously. It’s a joke. In this case, it’s real – sure – but it still strikes me as comical. Maybe it’s just me, but as with St. Laurence….I can’t but stifle a chuckle when somebody tells me something so absurdly evil. Let’s face it: evil is absurd. It gets so stupid it can’t hide itself any longer. It’s not original. Hieronymus Bosch’s little devils stop looking frightening after a while and just get silly.

Somebody’s got to see the humor in it, because, from what I hear, the devil never was one for being able to laugh at himself. He was probably pulled down to hell by his own weighty sense of self-importance, I reckon.

 

Yours in Christ,

Br. JD, OP

 

  1. #1 by Iulia on September 6, 2013 - 4:01 am

    you are so right! i subscribe to everithing

  2. #2 by Ana on October 30, 2013 - 5:39 am

    Well said!

Leave a Reply

